Chief of Police
Police Department Administrative Assistant
- School Bus Safety
- Move Over Law
- Headlights in Rain
- Texting Ban
1. When a school bus operator activates the red signal and STOP sign arm, a driver of a vehicle, either approaching from the opposite direction or behind the school bus must stop at least 10 feet from the bus, remained stopped until the red lights are turned off.
2. When a school bus operator activates the yellow lights of the school bus he is notifying the driver that a Stop to either pick up or let off children will occur within 100 to 300 feet. Drivers observing the yellow flashing lights should proceed with caution and only proceed pass the bus if traveling in the opposite direction.
3. Remember the utmost caution must be used when a bus is picking up or unloading children. THE SAFETY OF THE CHILDREN MUST BE YOUR FIRST CONSIDERATION.
4. VIOLATIONS OF THE RED SIGNAL/STOP ARM AT A SCHOOL BUS CARRIES A HEAVY PENALTY. FIVE (5) POINTS ON YOUR LICENSE, A HEFTY FINE AND A 60 DAY SUSPENSION OF YOUR LICENSE.
Pennsylvania’s Move Over Law requires drivers approaching an emergency response area who are unable to safely merge into a lane further away from the response area to slow to at least 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. An emergency response area is where an emergency vehicle has its lights flashing, or where road crews or emergency responders have lighted flares, posted signs, or try to warn travelers. This includes police traffic stops.
Read more about Pennsylvania’s Move Over Law here.
Vehicle Code 4302(a)(3) requires drivers to display lighted headlamps any time the vehicle’s windshield wipers are in continuous or intermittent use due to precipitation or atmospheric moisture, including rain, snow, sleet or mist.
News for Immediate Release
Nov. 9, 2011
Camp Hill – Governor Tom Corbett today signed legislation that bans texting while driving on Pennsylvania roads. The new law, which makes texting while driving a primary offense carrying a $50 fine, takes effect 120 calendar days from today.
“Senate Bill 314 aims to put a halt to texting from behind the wheel and is intended to save lives,” Corbett said during a bill-signing event in suburban Harrisburg. “No text message is worth a human life. The message of this legislation is drive now and text later.”
The new law specifically does the following:
- Prohibits as a primary offense all drivers from using an Interactive Wireless Communication Device (IWCD) to send, read or write a text-based message.
- Defines an IWCD as a wireless phone, personal digital assistant, smart phone, portable or mobile computer or similar devices that can be used for texting, instant messaging, emailing or browsing the Internet.
- Defines a text-based message as a text message, instant message, email or other written communication composed or received on an IWCD.
- Institutes a $50 fine for convictions under this section.
- Makes clear that this law supersedes and preempts any local ordinances restricting the use of interactive wireless devices by drivers.